IT Brief New Zealand - Technology news for CIOs & IT decision-makers
Story image
Bill Buckley named as 2013 Flying Kiwi
Wed, 20th Nov 2013
FYI, this story is more than a year old

The newest inductee to New Zealand’s Hi-Tech Hall of Fame is Bill Buckley, founder and President of Buckley Systems, announced at the 2013 Flying Kiwi in Auckland this week.

The award recognises Buckley’s lifetime of achievement in the technology industry in engineering, business and export and the founder of Buckley Systems Limited (BSL)

BSL is one of the world’s leading supplier of precision electromagnets – used in the manufacture of silicon chips, flat-panel screens, high-end medical machinery and particle accelerators, with the company supplying machinery used in the manufacture of more than 90% of the world’s silicon chips.

Speaking at the event, NZ Hi-Tech Trust chairman, Wayne Norrie said: “Bill Buckley’s achievements, like those of all our Flying Kiwis, are nothing short of incredible. His philosophy on business and life is truly one to admire.

"Bill says: 'It’s no good doing what anyone can do. You have to go after the stuff that is too complicated for the average engineer so you can be Johnny on the spot when the demand hits'.

“That’s a philosophy he has followed, and continues to follow, with great passion, commitment and drive.

"It’s led him to create a company at the very forefront of technology innovation globally. Today, BSL is building products that are powering the innovations of tomorrow in areas such as computing and healthcare from right here in New Zealand.”

From an early age, Norrie said Buckley was driven by a fascination with technology and a desire to build things, taking an early interest in nuclear physics, and his curiosity and passion drove him to establish his first company in 1978.

In 1986, Buckley setup Buckley Systems Ltd with the intention of pursuing a global market opportunity in the supply of precision electromagnets.

Today the company employs more than 300 people and is a global technology leader exporting its products to customers around the world from its headquarters in Auckland, New Zealand.

“Like all our Flying Kiwis, Bill is humble, and unassuming, and outside of people in this industry, few New Zealanders would be aware of his fantastic achievements," added James Kyd, Chief Marketing Officer of Tait Communications, sponsors of the Flying Kiwi Award.

"Which is why it’s so important we celebrate our Flying Kiwis and tell their stories more widely.”

Members of The Hi-Tech Hall of Fame:

• 2013 Bill Buckley

• 2012 Sir Ken Stevens

• 2011 Brent Robinson

• 2010 Paul Hargreaves

• 2009 Selwyn Pellett

• 2009 Rod Drury

• 2008 Dennis Chapman

• 2008 Ian Taylor

• 2008 Sir Gil Simpson

• 2007 Trevor Eagle

• 2007 Sir William Gallagher

• 2006 Sir Peter Maire

• 2005 Sir Woolf Fisher and Maurice Paykel

• 2004 Neville Jordan

• 2003 Sir Angus Tait